现在就咨询

来自澳大利亚悉尼的Alicia Vrajlal

Yahoo 7的娱乐副主编

我在推特上发布了我的文章,而名人们都很喜欢这种宣传,于是就转推它们,接着宣传人员看到了,并邀请我参加活动。

把对肥皂剧的热情转变成事业

作为女生,Alicia Vrajlal爱看电视肥皂剧,但是作为斐济/印度裔的澳大利亚人,她渴望在屏幕上看到像她一样的人,而不仅仅只有欧洲血统的人。她内心深处还渴望有朝一日能在娱乐圈工作。

由于高中时擅长数学,她就读了UTS的会计学硕士学位。她获得了行业赞助的合作奖学金,其中包括两次为期六个月的实习机会。

Alicia在一家全球会计师事务所首次实习的期间,意识到自己选择的职业并不适合自己。“这并不是我能想象自己每天想要过来上班的地方。”她说。

至于Alicia的第二次的实习,她去了Yahoo 7的财务部,她觉得如果她无法在娱乐界工作,至少可以大体了解一下这个行业是什么样的。

她在读书时,就开始写博客,名字叫做“我是追星族(I Am Star struck)”,并曾为CleoCosmopolitianMamamia杂志社从事志愿工作。随后,她在UTS攻读了新闻学硕士学位。

毕业后,她获得了《每日邮报》的试用职位,并很快晋升为娱乐记者。她接下来的职位是Yahoo 7的娱乐和生活方式板块 Be的副主编。

她建议有兴趣在娱乐界发展事业的其他学生开始写博客。“你可以写任何你想写的内容。你可以控制自己的创意并主导编辑。这样能向雇主展示你已经积极采取了行动,并已经思考过,而且你对此抱有认真的态度,”她说。

她还建议接受尽可能多的实习机会,并利用任何你发布到推特上的内容。“我在推特上发布了我的文章,然后名人们喜欢这种宣传,于是转推了它们,接着宣传人员看到了,并邀请我参加活动,”她说。

Alicia希望能适时转变为编辑,并创造更多内容,促进行业内的多元文化和多样性。“我想打破行业的障碍,”她说。

准备好获得成功了吗?

Enquire now

Alicia Vrajlal from Sydney, Australia

Deputy Entertainment Editor at Yahoo 7

I was tweeting my articles and then celebrities were enjoying the publicity and retweeting them, and then publicists were picking up and inviting me to events.

Turning a passion for TV soaps into a career

As a girl, Alicia Vrajlal loved watching TV soap operas, but as an Australian of Fijian/Indian heritage she longed to see someone like herself on the screen instead of only people of European descent. Secretly, she also hoped she’d work in the entertainment industry one day.

Because she excelled at maths at high school, she enrolled in UTS’ Bachelor of Accounting. She received an industry-sponsored Cooperative Scholarship which included two six-month internships.

During her first internship for a global accounting firm, Alicia realised that she hadn’t chosen the right career: “It just wasn’t the sort of place I could see myself wanting to come to every day,” she says.

For her next internship, Alicia went to the finance department at Yahoo7, figuring if she couldn’t work in the entertainment industry, she could at least get a glimpse of what the sector was like.

While she was studying, she’d started a blog called “I Am Star struck” and worked as a volunteer for magazines Cleo, Cosmopolitan and Mamamia. She then enrolled in a Master of Journalism at UTS.

After graduation, she got a trial role with the Daily Mail and was soon promoted to entertainment reporter. Her next position was as Deputy Editor for Yahoo7’s entertainment and lifestyle section, Be.

Her advice to other students interested in careers in the entertainment industry is to start a blog. “You can write about exactly what you want. You have that creative and editorial control. It shows employers you’ve taken initiative and you’ve thought about it, and that you’re serious about this,” she says.

She also advises taking as many internships as possible and leveraging anything you publish through Twitter. “I was tweeting my articles and then celebrities were enjoying the publicity and retweeting them, and then publicists were picking up and inviting me to events,” she says.

Alicia hopes in time to move into an editor’s position and create more content promoting multiculturalism and diversity in the industry. “I want to break down the industry barriers,” she says.

Ready to make your mark?