现在就咨询

来自斯里兰卡康提的Damith Herath

机器人学家,Robological的创始人兼首席执行官

你应该听取你父母的意见,但应始终跟随你的天性。我就是活生生的例子——我正在从事艺术和机器人方面的工作。

机械专家:钟爱艺术和机器人学

Damith Herath是一位大名鼎鼎的机器人学家,热衷于研究机器人和行为艺术的交叉领域。从小学起,他就培养了这种双重兴趣,它们交织贯穿了他的人生,并塑造了他的职业生涯。

“我们所有人都具有这种二元性,有着工程、逻辑的一面,然后是艺术、创造性的一面,”他说。“我就是活生生的证据——我正在从事艺术和机器人方面的工作。”

在斯里兰卡康提长大的Damith记得他的父亲在他小学时给他买了第一台电脑。从那里开始,他很快学会了编程以及自己搭建电路板,并为近邻社区搭建了一个带扬声器和无线电天线的收音机HiFi系统。

在他12岁的时候,他发明了他的第一个人形机器人,有着雕花的木质身体和泡沫材质的腿。“我们在下面安装了一个电机,就像汽车雨刮器那样的电机,因此它可以前后行走,” Damith说。“我制作了一个小型扩音器,把扬声器放在头部,然后我可以通过头部用麦克风来说话。”

尽管他没有付出太多努力对付高考,但他还是进入了斯里兰卡最大的大学——康提的佩拉德尼亚大学,攻读工程学专业的理学学士学位。

Damith 在26岁时获得了著名的斯里兰卡研究生学习总统奖学金,并首次离开斯里兰卡,前往澳大利亚。

正当UTS的工程和信息技术学院从澳大利亚研究委员会(Australian Research Council)获得数百万澳元的资助,成立了卓越的自治系统中心(CAS)之际,他开始攻读博士学位,是首批三名博士生之一。“一切都在同一时间发生,”Damith说。

他的论文是同步定位和地图构建(SLAM)“基本上,就是你如何对一个机器人进行编程,使他能在任何环境中从A行进到B,这种技术被用在自动驾驶的汽车中” ,他说。

对于他在UTS度过的五年时间,Damith仍然拥有美好的回忆。“我真的很喜欢工程系的团体氛围,尤其是研究生团队。它就像一个联系紧密的家庭。”

毕业后,Damith前往西悉尼大学工作,在那里,他的一个机器人项目入围了工程卓越奖(Engineering Excellence Awards)的决赛,并在澳大利亚的动力博物馆安置了三年之久。

与此同时,Damith与两位同事共同创立了自己的技术咨询公司Robological,将人机交互引入到商业项目当中。Robological是2015年在西雅图举办的“亚马逊机器人挑战赛”唯一入围决赛的澳大利亚公司。

从那时以来,Damith一直是科廷大学和新南威尔士大学的客座教授,直到两年前,他在堪培拉大学担任现职,在那里,他创立了该大学的机器人课程。

明年,Damith将主持在澳大利亚举办的“ICRA国际机器人与自动化大会”的首个机器人艺术项目。

他对其他有志向的年轻学生的建议是,“你应该听取你父母的意见,但始终跟随你的天性。我就是活生生的例子——我正在从事艺术和机器人方面的工作。”

准备好获得成功了吗?

Enquire now

Damith Herath from Kandy, Sri Lanka

Roboticist and Founder & CEO of Robological

You should listen to your parents but you should always follow your natural tendencies. I am living proof - I am working in art and robotics

The mechanical man: A love of art and robotics.

Damith Herath is a renowned roboticist who is passionate about the intersection of robotics and performance art. Since primary school, he’s nurtured these twin passions which are woven through his life and have moulded his career.

“All of us have this duality, the engineering, the logic side of things and then the arts, the creative side of things,” he says. “I am living proof – I am working in art and robotics.”

Damith who grew up in Kandy, Sri-Lanka, remembers his father buying him his first computer in primary school. From there, he quickly learned how to code and built his own circuit boards, a radio HiFi system with speakers and also radio antennas for his neighbourhood.

When he was 12 years old, he created his first humanoid robot, with a carved wooden body and foam legs. “We put a motor beneath, like one of those wiper motors from a car, so it could go backwards and forwards,” Damith says. “I built a little amplifier and put a speaker inside the head and then I could talk through the head using a mic.”

Although he didn’t put much effort into his final high school exams, he got into a Bachelor of Science in Engineering at the University of Peradeniya in Kandy, the country’s largest university.

At the age of 26, Damith got a prestigious Sri Lankan presidential scholarship for postgraduate studies and left Sri Lanka for the first time heading to Australia.

He was one of three inaugural PhD students who began their degree just as the UTS Faculty of Engineering and IT had received a multi-million dollar Australian Research Council grant to set up a Centre of Excellence for Autonomous Systems (CAS). “Everything came together at the same time,” Damith says.

His thesis was in simultaneous localisation and mapping (SLAM) “basically how you program a robot to go from A to B in any kind of environment, the technology used in self-driven cars,” he says.

Damith still has fond memories of his five years at UTS. “I really loved the community feel of the engineering faculty, especially the postgraduate team. It was like a close-knit family.”

After graduating, Damith went onto work at Western Sydney University where one of his robotic projects was a finalist in the Engineering Excellence Awards and was installed for three years at Australia’s powerhouse museum.

At the same time, Damith co-founded his own technology consultancy with two colleagues, Robological, which brings human-robot interaction into commercial projects. Robological was the only Australian company in the finals of the 2015 Amazon Robotics Challenge in Seattle.

Since then, Damith’s been a visiting professor at Curtin University and the University of NSW before taking up his current position at the University of Canberra two years ago where he’s establishing the university’s robotics program.

Next year, Damith will chair the first robot art program at the ICRA International Conference on Robotics and Automation to be held in Australia.

His advice to other young aspiring students? “You should listen to your parents but you should always follow your natural tendencies. I am the living proof – I am working in art and robotics.”

Ready to make your mark?