现在就咨询

来自日本富山县的Kentaro Yoshida

KENTARO YOSHIDA的插画师

有时候你需要打破障碍。一旦你突破了障碍,你的人生就会变得越来越容易。最好不要只是为了生存,也要为了成功而努力。

艺术家将日本漫画风格注入悉尼冲浪文化

Kentaro Yoshida是一位艺术家,他受日本神话和漫画书的启发,将他自己的画风表现在当代澳大利亚冲浪文化上。

Kentaro是创意机构M&C Saatchi的全职平面设计师和插画师,现在正争取成为一名艺术家。他曾为冲浪板和服装进行了艺术设计,并参加展会。

他居住在悉尼著名的曼利海滩(Manly Beach)附近,他以连串骨骼和头骨插画装饰公寓的墙壁。

“我曾在朋友的冲浪店绘制壁画。很大型的,然后人们就开始视我为艺术家,”他说。从那时起,他曾举办了团体、双人和个人展览,还接受委托为Billabong、Hurley、Mambo、Vans、Converse和其它品牌设计作品。

他在澳大利亚生活了十年左右,并在悉尼科技大学(UTS)完成了视觉传播学士学位,而且成了一名冲浪爱好者。

他在距离日本东京西北部300公里外的渔村长大,孩提时期,他花了很多时间在妈妈的工作室里画漫画人物。他的妈妈是一名玻璃艺术家,她积极鼓励他发挥创意。

他说:“看到我的妈妈把艺术家作为职业,让我觉得我也可以成为一名艺术家或者创作者。

他18岁时来到了澳大利亚,选择悉尼是因为这里是学习英语最便宜的国际城市。他先入读了语言学校,然后才UTS Insearch修读了延伸型设计学文凭课程。

Kentaro学会了如何撰写学术论文和做演讲,并获得了与许多不同国籍的人们合作的经验。

“那里有来自印度尼西亚、香港、中国、韩国和一些欧洲的学生。我是唯一的日本学生 —— 所以和这些不同团体的人相处还挺容易的,“他说。在UTS Insearch学习了三个学期之后,他已经为转入UTS学习奠定了基础。

Kentaro在修读学位的过程中,在冲浪品牌O’Neill实习,并创作了一些后来用于他们的一些服装的设计。那是他第一次发现自己可以把酷爱的冲浪和艺术结合在一起。

毕业后,一位朋友帮他在M&C Saatchi找了一份工作,在过去的五年里,他参与过不少大企业的设计工作,如为澳大利亚联邦银行、谷歌、Optus、NRMA、IAG和Lexus等大型企业开展活动。

同时,他进一步扩大了创作实践,建议其他年轻人去建立人脉。“有时候你需要打破障碍。一旦你突破了障碍,你的人生就会变得更容易。”

准备好获得成功了吗?

Enquire now

Kentaro Yoshida from Toyama, Japan

Illustrator at KENTARO YOSHIDA

Sometimes you need to break the barriers. Once you get through the barriers, your life becomes easier and easier. The best way is not just to survive, but to thrive.

Artist infuses Sydney surf culture with Japanese comic book style

Kentaro Yoshida is an artist making his mark on contemporary Australian surf culture with his own style of imagery inspired by Japanese myths and comic books.

A full-time graphic designer and illustrator for creative agency M&C Saatchi, Kentaro is also now gaining a profile as an artist. He’s designed art for surfboards and clothing as well as taking part in exhibitions.

Illustrations of animated skeletons and skulls adorn the walls of his apartment near Sydney’s famous Manly Beach where he’s made his home.

“I did a mural in my friend’s surf shop. It was quite big, and then people started recognising me as an artist,” he says. Since then he’s had group, dual and solo shows and also does commissions for Billabong, Hurley, Mambo, Vans, Converse and other brands.

He’s lived in Australia for about a decade and completed a Bachelor of Visual Communications at the University of Technology Sydney (UTS), as well as becoming a keen surfer.

As a child, growing up in a Japanese fishing village 300 km northwest of Tokyo, he spent a lot of time in his mum’s studio drawing comic book characters. His mum, a glass artist, encouraged his creativity.

“Seeing my mum make a career as an artist made me think that I, too, could be an artist or creator,” he says.

He came to Australia at the age of 18, having chosen Sydney as the least expensive international destination to learn English. He first went to language school and then took an extended Diploma of Design at UTS Insearch.

Kentaro learned how to write academic essays and do presentations, as well as gaining experience collaborating with people of many different nationalities.

“There were students from Indonesia, Hong Kong, China, Korea and some Europeans. I was the only Japanese student – so it was kind of easy to hang out with these different groups,” he says. After three semesters at UTS Insearch, he’d laid a foundation to transition to UTS.

During his degree, Kentaro did an internship with the surf brand O’Neill and created designs that were later used on some of their clothing. For the first time he saw how he could combine his passion for surfing and art.

After he graduated, a friend helped him find a job at M&C Saatchi where he’s worked on campaigns for large corporations such as the Commonwealth Bank of Australia, Google, Optus, NRMA, IAG and Lexus over the past five years.

At the same time, he’s expanded his creative practice, advising other young people to network. “Sometimes you need to break the barriers. Once you get through the barriers, your life becomes easier.”

Ready to make your mark?