现在就咨询

来自澳大利亚悉尼的Robin McGowan

InStitchu的联合创始人兼总监

大多数零售商都在竭尽全力地进行创新。
他们真的有必要,
重新思考他们的商业模式。

创办一家合适的企业

Robin McGowan早已有了强烈的创业精神。他与一位名叫James Wakefield的朋友一起开始了自己的首次创业;两人从中国购买SIM卡备份装置,再出售给他们的同学。

从UTS毕业后的十年之后,Robin和James开展了第二次创业,InStitchu,男士定制西服业务。

Robin说,InStitchu正在以优步(Uber)颠覆出租车行业的方式颠覆西服行业。

“(大多数)零售商都在竭尽全力地进行创新,”他说。“他们真的有必要重新思考他们的商业模式。”

虽然现在InStitchu在澳大利亚已经有七个展厅,在奥克兰和纽约也有展厅,但是它主要是一个在线零售商。在他们的展厅中,造型师为顾客量身,然后再向他们演示如何使用iPad设计自己的西服,并在下次购买时远程下单。

不确定自己尺寸的在线客户也可以利用3D身体扫描仪进行测量——InStitchu与特定购物中心的mPort达成了协议。除了西服,客户还能购买衬衣、领带、口袋手帕、太阳镜和鞋子。

在UTS时,Robin说校园环境真的非常有利于培养企业家精神。他修读了物业经济学学士学位,James修读了商业学士学位。他们遇到了许多其他开始创业的学生,并从他们那里获得了灵感。“即使他们的业务非常不同,仅仅是与面临相同挑战的其他学生交谈也非常有帮助,”Robin说。

Robin建议胸怀抱负的创业家去寻找一位联合创始人,这样能与他/她一起探讨想法,风雨同舟。“有人在身边支持是很有帮助的,”他说。他还鼓励人们构建自己的人脉,并寻找行业中的导师。

发展InStitchu的点子是因McGowan试图从货架上购买西服而遭遇了令人沮丧的经历之后产生的。当他发现他的许多朋友有相似经历时,他和James便开始为他们从海外订购西服。

随着订单逐渐增多,他们两人意识到了他们拥有了一项业务。他们找了一位可以在三个星期内交付定制西服的中国供应商。McGowan说,随着技术的飞速增长,在五年时间内,他认为客户将能够设计自己的西服,下单,并且在第二天就收到衣服。

准备好获得成功了吗?

Enquire now

Robin McGowan from Sydney, Australia

Co-Founder & Director of InStitchu

Most retailers are struggling to innovate. They really have to rethink their business model.

Launching a suitable business venture

Robin McGowan already had a strong entrepreneurial flare. He launched his first business venture with a friend called James Wakefield; the pair sourced sim-card backup devices from China and sold them to their classmates.

A decade later after both graduated from UTS, Robin and James developed their next venture, InStitchu, a men’s bespoke suiting business.

Robin says InStitchu is now disrupting the suiting sector the way Uber did taxis.

“(Most) retailers are struggling to innovate,” he says. “They really have to rethink their business model.”

While InStitchu now has seven showrooms across Australia and is also in Auckland and New York, it’s primarily an online retailer. In their showrooms, customers get measured by a stylist, who then shows them how to use an iPad to design their own suit and make their next purchase remotely.

Online customers who are not sure of their measurements can also use a 3D body scanner – InStitchu has an agreement with mPort available in select shopping centres. As well as suits, customers can buy shirts, ties, pocket handkerchiefs, sunglasses and shoes.

While at UTS, Robin says the environment was really conducive to entrepreneurship. He had studied a Bachelor of Property Economics and James a Bachelor of Business. They met many other students who were starting ventures and bounced ideas off them. “Even though their businesses were quite different, it was really helpful just to speak with other students who were facing the same challenges,” Robin says.

Robin’s advice to aspiring entrepreneurs is to find a co-founder to have someone to discuss ideas with and to share the good and bad times. “It helps to have someone in your corner,” he says. Also, he’d encourage people to build their networks and find a mentor in their industry.

The idea for InStitchu grew after McGowan had a frustrating experience trying to buy a suit off the rack. When he found that many of his friends had had a similar experience, he and James started ordering suits for them from overseas.

As the orders continued to flow in, the pair realised they had the makings of a business. They found a Chinese supplier who could deliver a custom-made suit in three weeks and InStitchu was born. McGowan says that with the rapid pace of technology in five years’ time he believes customers will be able to design their suits, place an order and receive them the very next day.

Ready to make your mark?