现在就咨询

来自韩国首尔的Terry Kwon

Entertainment联合创始人兼首席执行官

有一天,我意识到我真的很喜欢让人们感到开心;我喜欢看到我能够逗人们笑,然后我会感到非常满足。

有一天,我意识到我真的很喜欢让人们感到开心;我喜欢看到我能够逗人们笑,然后我会感到非常满足。

Terry Kwon把自己形容为一名“铁杆玩家”。自从六岁时他获得了他的第一台任天堂游戏机以来,他就一直对游戏很痴迷。正是将这种痴迷让他将其转变成了自己的创业公司——Gix Entertainment,该公司专注于下一代游戏技术。

出生于韩国的Terry在美国度过了他人生的头七年,他的父亲是一名物理学教授。他全家回到了韩国,他在韩国继续上小学和高中。到他10岁时,他已经自学了如何编程。他把所有空闲时间都花在了制作游戏和玩游戏上,并入读了位于首尔的课外计算机学院。

Terry说,“有一天,我意识到我真的很喜欢让人们感到开心;我喜欢看到我能够逗人们笑,然后我会感到非常满足。于是我决定,既然我喜欢游戏,我喜欢技术和编程,那么也许我可以做些能够让人们感到开心的事情。这就是我开始制作游戏的原因。”

他于2006年来到悉尼,在UTS Insearch修读IT专业文凭,然后在悉尼科技大学(UTS)攻读理学学士学位,主修IT,与他的阿姨、叔叔和表亲们生活在一起,他们是拥有澳大利亚和韩国双重国籍的公民。

“在UTS Insearch学习意味着我可以提前体验大学生活以及我应该做的准备工作。我也学习了写论文和学术英语,也做了很多演讲,”Terry说。“我可以说我现在所用的所有英语都是从Insearch学来的。我从Insearch学到了一切。”

当他转入学士学位时,他不仅学到了理论和实践技能,而且还学会了如何管理项目。他在7至10名学生的小组中进行软件开发项目的工作,并在一段时间后向来到UTS讨论学生学习进度的行业项目经理进行真实的简报和汇报。

这使Terry学会了如何与来自其他国家的人合作。 “我体会到了他们思维方式的不同之处,我学会了如何与他们交流,”他说。 “在韩国,我们总是要考虑别人的感受,但是在这里,他们真的非常严厉、恪守原则、专业而不感情用事,表达意见非常直接。”

毕业后,他回到首尔,与曾与他在UTS Insearch和UTS共同学习过的同学Brendan Ahn合作。

他们和其他四位同事共同创办了一家名为Gix Entertainment的游戏公司。他们的游戏叫做Reapers: Blades of Vengeance和Reapers: Rebirth,你在游戏中构建自己的迷宫、怪物和蒸汽朋克人物。

他的建议是:“永远不要放弃!我也建议你不必急于取得进展。从长远来看,拥有正确的方向更为重要。”

准备好获得成功了吗?

Enquire now

Terry Kwon from Seoul, South Korea

CEO & CTO at Gix Entertainment

I realised that I liked making people happy - that’s why I started making games.

Top gamer takes career to new levels

Terry Kwon describes himself as “a hardcore gamer”. Since he received his first Nintendo game at the age of six, he has had an obsession with gaming. It was this obsession that transformed into his own start-up business – Gix Entertainment, which focuses on next generation gaming technology.

Born in South Korea, Terry spent the first seven years of his life in the US where his dad was working as a physics professor. The family returned to South Korea for the rest of his primary and high school. By the time he was 10, he’d taught himself how to code. He spent all his free time making and playing games and attended an extra-curricular computer institute in Seoul.

“One day, I realised that I really liked making people happy; I liked that I could make them laugh - and then I felt really satisfied. So I decided, I like games, I like technology and I like programming, so maybe I can make something to make people happy. That's how I started making games,” Terry says.

He came to Sydney in 2006 to study at a Diploma of IT at UTS Insearch and then a Bachelor of Science in IT at the University of Technology Sydney (UTS), living with his aunt, uncle and cousins who were dual Australian-Korean citizens.

“UTS Insearch meant that I could pre-experience university life and what should I do to prepare. I also learned how to write essays and academic English and also did a lot of speaking,” Terry says. “All the English I use these days I can say is from Insearch. I learned everything from them.”

When he transitioned to his Bachelor degree, he learned not only theory and practical skills but also how to manage projects. He’d work in groups of 7-10 students on software development projects, following a real brief and reporting to project managers from industry who came into UTS to discuss students’ progress.

This taught Terry how to collaborate with people from other countries. “I experienced how they think differently and I learned how to communicate with them,” he says. “In South Korea, we always have to think about the other people’s feeling, but here they’re really strict, principle-based and professional rather than emotional, very straightforward with their opinions.”

After he graduated, he returned to Seoul where he joined forces with Brendan Ahn, a fellow student he’d studied with at UTS Insearch and UTS.

Together with four other colleagues, they cofounded a gaming company they named Gix Entertainment. Their games are called Reapers: Blades of Vengeance and Reapers: Rebirth where you construct your own mazes, monsters and Steampunk characters.

His advice is: “Never give up! I would also suggest you don’t have to rush on your progress. Having the right direction is more important in the long run.”

Ready to make your mark?