现在就咨询

来自中国上海和美国旧金山的陆怡颖

YIYING LU的创始人,以及纽约大学上海分校

我想成为艺术和科技之间的桥梁。我也想成为东西方之间的文化桥梁。

怡颖以她标志性的设计一次次地改变了世界

陆怡颖因其跨越语言鸿沟的标志和插画设计而成为了国际知名的视觉传达设计师。她是一名富有创造力的设计师、企业家和大学讲师,她现居在旧金山,也经常来往于悉尼和上海。

在每一个设计项目的过程中,她都会面临不同的挑战。“这是一场永不间断的寻找稍纵即逝的灵感,与征服畏惧文思枯竭之间辗转的舞蹈,”她说。“当你不懈努力后最好的回报是,你可以设计出比预期更好的作品,有时甚至会比任何人预期的都要好的作品。”

怡颖的国际形象随着她创作的“托起梦想家”一图而飙升——插图中,一条白鲸被一群橙色的小鸟口衔长线托举起来,2008年她授权允许推特使用该图。当推特网络超载时,这条所谓的“宕机鲸”就会出现,直到推特在2013上市后光荣退休。

2009年在纽约举行的首届社交媒体“肖蒂奖”(Shorty Awards),被誉为“世界推特界的奥斯卡奖”中,这条鲸鱼为怡颖赢得了“最佳设计奖”。她也在由微软赞助举办的“Weekend Australian Magazine未来100强:新兴领袖”评选当中被评为“十大新兴创新领袖”。

怡颖在上海长大,她说她曾花时间阅读国际漫画及卡通书籍,比如日本漫画、美国的《加菲猫》和连载花生漫画(Peanuts),以及观看世界各地的动画片。

她于2002年来到悉尼。在澳大利亚的另一所大学就读了预科课程之后,她转学进入了悉尼科技大学(UTS)。“我想要学习一些接近行业实践、并可以应用到实际生活的东西,”她说。

当怡颖还在学习UTS设计学学士学位时,第二学年就开始从事设计学院大学助教的工作。她还将她每年的作品项目商业化,授权一家美国的公司使用她设计的“大自然交响曲”扑克牌,以及授权SEA LIFE悉尼水族馆使用她设计的海洋动物面具。

在她大学三年级时,怡颖赴伦敦久负盛名的世界顶尖艺术学院——中央圣马丁艺术与设计学院进行了为期六个月的学习交流,此番经历使她认清了职业发展道路。“它教会了我设计思维技巧,以及如何能将我的平面设计的技巧,灵活地应用于不同的商业实践中,”她说。后来她得到的第一份工作是在上海的全球广告公司智威汤逊(J. Walter Thompson)中担任设计。

到了第四年,怡颖已经建立了重要的客户群。毕业后,她扩大了工作室,为美宝莲、Expedia、微软和迪斯尼上海分公司等项目工作。她也是500 Startups,一家全球风险投资公司和创业加速器的创意总监。

她最新的创新尝试是一个Kickstarter项目,她与朋友们合作设计emojis表情符号,包括饺子、筷子、中餐外卖盒和幸运饼干,并由键盘文本的全球标准Unicode 发行使用。

她今年成为了第一位被世界领先设计创新公司IDEO在邀请赴中国参加IDEO上海创意双周计划的艺术家,期间她创作了动画的饺子表情包。

她给有抱负的企业家的建议是,要目标明确,就像一座 “灯塔”,这样即使你面临大风大浪的挑战,始终还有彼岸的光明为你指引方向。

准备好获得成功了吗?

Enquire now

Yiying Lu from Shanghai, China & San Francisco, United States

Founder at YIYING LU & Design Lecturer of Program of Creativity + Innovation at New York University, Shanghai

I wanted to be this bridge between art and technology. I also wanted to be the cultural bridge between East and West.

Yiying changes the world one iconic design at a time

Yiying Lu is a visual communicator well-known internationally for her graphic icons that transcend language barriers. A prolific designer, entrepreneur and university lecturer, she is based in San Francisco but shares her time between Sydney and Shanghai.

In every project, she faces significant challenges. “It’s a constant dance between fear and conquering fear,” she says. “The best reward is you’ll eventually come up with something that’s better than you expected and sometimes better than anybody else expected.”

Yiying’s international profile soared with her creation of “Lifting a Dreamer” - a white beluga whale lifted by a flock of orange birds on strings that she licensed to Twitter in 2008. The so-called “Fail Whale” popped up when the Twitter network was overloaded until Twitter stopped using it in 2013.

The whale won Yiying “Best in Design” at the inaugural Shorty Awards for social media held in New York in 2009. She was also named a “Top 10 Emerging Leader in Innovation” in the Weekend Australian Magazine’s Next 100: Emerging Leaders, sponsored by Microsoft.

Yiying grew up in Shanghai and says she spent her time reading international comic books, such as Japanese manga, American Garfield and Peanuts and watching cartoons from around the world.

She came to Sydney in 2002. After a foundation year at another Australian university, she transferred to the University of Technology Sydney (UTS). “I wanted to study something that was close to industry and could apply to real life,” she says.

While she was a Bachelor of Design student at UTS, Yiying started working as a casual academic in her second year. She also commercialised her annual UTS studio projects, licensing animal playing cards to an American company, and sea animal face-masks to SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium.

A six-month study exchange at Central St Martin’s in London, one of the world’s top-ranked art schools, clarified her career path. “It taught me design thinking skills and how I could apply my graphic design to business,” she says. This led to her first job designing for global advertising firm J. Walter Thompson in Shanghai.

By her fourth year, Yiying had built a significant client base. After she graduated, she expanded her studio practice working on projects for Maybelline, Expedia, Microsoft, and Disney Shanghai. She was also creative director for 500 Start-ups, a global venture capital firm and start up accelerator.

Her latest adventure is a Kickstarter project with her friends. She’s designed emojis of a dumpling, chopsticks, take-out box and fortune cookie and plans to persuade the Unicode Consortium to adopted them as official emojis. She was also recently invited to IDEO Shanghai as the first Artist in Residence in China for IDEO’s Creative Fortnight Program, where she created the animated dumpling social media stickers.

Her advice to aspiring entrepreneurs is to have a clear purpose, a “lighthouse”, so that even when you face challenges, you always have something to guide you.

Ready to make your mark?